Mojo (2013)

Home » Works » Theatre » Mojo (2013)

Mojo is a stage play set in Soho, London in July 1958. It explores the sleazy underworld and power games of London’s most infamous district.

Act one takes place upstairs at Ezra’s Atlantic on Dean Street, Soho. Act two takes place downstairs in the club, around 6:00 PM the same day.

  • This is the first major revival of the play, which initially opened at the Royal Court Downstairs on 14 July 1995, prior to a run at West End’s Duke of York’s in 1996.
  • Ian Rickson also directed the original 1995 production at the Royal Court.
  • On Mojo’s first run, it won the Olivier Award for Best New Comedy, and Jez Butterworth won both the Evening Standard and George Devine Awards for Most Promising Playwright.
  • This production was nominated for a Who’s On Stage Award for Best Play Revival.
Jez Butterworth
Ian Rickson
Additional Cast:
Rupert Grint, Tom Rhys Harries, Daniel Mays, Colin Morgan, Ben Whishaw
Harold Pinter Theatre
Completed play. Previews began 26 October 2013, opened 13 November 2013.  Original closing date extended two weeks from 25 January 2014 to 8 February 2014
Mojo, BBC4 ‘Saturday Review’ audio clip. Colin Morgan, Ben Whishaw, and Brendan Coyle